What could you do if… You had the inner confidence to act decisively?


Inner Confidence, it’s a strange thing.  It’s a wonderful thing.  Some people have it, and some don’t.  Some people act like they have it, but every once in a while you get a peak under the armor and get a sense that maybe they don’t.  Some people don’t seem to be all the confident, but are rock steady when things go wrong.  Why is that? Fear. 

Frank Herbert wrote the Litany of Fear in Dune:

I must not fear.
Fear is the mind-killer.
Fear is the little-death that brings total obliteration.
I will face my fear.
I will permit it to pass over me and through me.
And when it has gone past I will turn the inner eye to see its path.
Where the fear has gone there will be nothing.
Only I will remain

Immediately prior to writing this post I was listening to one of my favorite podcasts, Tara Brach and she was discussing fear.  She says “fear is necessary.”  And without it we would be brain dead.  So a little is good, but many of us live with a lot.  Why is that?  Why do we do that to ourselves?  We do have hard wiring for fear, most all creatures do.  But we tend to let it prey on us, many actively feed it.

Guilty as charged.  I first read the quote from Dune 25 years ago, and while I carried it around in my wallet for years, it was not something that I could consistently integrate into my life.  Today, I have moments where I can.  When I do, I feel much like the quote when it is gone, it’s just me left behind.  That’s when I begin to take decisive action. 

Recognize the fear, befriend the fear, and watch the fear subside.  Take action.  It’s that simple.  It’s not easy, but is that simple.  Now if I could just befriend consistency….

What could you do if… You had the inner confidence to act decisively?

About occasionallyserene

Just a guy trying to simplify his life in a complicated world. Finding out along the way that much of what he thought was real, is little more than an illusion created by others and sustained by his own mind.
This entry was posted in Fear, Frank Herbert, Inspirational, Tara Brach and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

