What could you do, if you knew you could not fail?


Think about that.  What are your secret dreams, hopes, ambitions?  There are many things in this world that we think we would like to do, the fear of failure often holds us back.  Have you ever wanted to… run a marathon, find a new job, return to school, start a business, write a book… the list could go on for days and is only limited by the aspirations of the people pondering the question.  Why is it that some of us will try these new experiences and embark on a new path and others of us won’t?

It’s failure, or more to the point it is a fear of failure that prevents us from breaking out and trying new things.  This fear can be founded in reality, some things are frightening, either because of a past experience or because there is some element of danger be it physical or psychological.  There are many things that we dream of, that are only frightening because we make them frightening.  If you break down fears and examine them from the dispassionate standpoint of probabilities, an intellectual exercise, you will see that the things we fear often do not have a high probability of occurring, but they have some likelihood.  This is frequently what prevents us from even trying to realize our dreams. 

If I want to change my life, I have to change my thinking.  Changing my life is easy, changing my thinking is more challenging.  I can find many reasons to rationalize my thoughts and at the end of the day I am still in the same place.  Not pushing the envelope, not realizing my dreams, not believing that I can accomplish my dreams.  So today, I want to take the approach that I cannot fail.  That the little thoughts that prevent me from taking the first step, are just that, little thoughts.  One of the best pieces of advice that I have heard is “you don’t have to believe everything you think.” 

The reality is that if whatever I am striving for is important enough to me, a single setback, what some would call failure, will be just that a setback.  I have to see it as a hurdle to be cleared, not an immoveable wall that cannot be scaled.  If I can do that, and my goal is important enough to me to risk setbacks, than the truth is I have moved very close to that place where I can’t fail.

So, what could you do if you knew you could not fail?

About occasionallyserene

Just a guy trying to simplify his life in a complicated world. Finding out along the way that much of what he thought was real, is little more than an illusion created by others and sustained by his own mind.
This entry was posted in failure, Fear, Inspirational, Success and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to What could you do, if you knew you could not fail?

  1. Anonymous says:

    This blog has given me great inspiration. I will not be afraid to try new things (new forms of art, new forms of exercise… new food, etc.), and I will be confident in what I do, even if I do not succeed. Fear will not hold me back.
    Thank you for writing something so wonderfully fascinating.

  2. I am glad that you are inspired anonymous… The confidence and freedom to try new things will empower you and help you create the life you want.
    Good Luck,
    Occasionallyserene

  3. Anonymous says:

    Thanks for the interesting perspective. Is the thought of failure what holds us back or the inability to choose the direction? Something to ponder. Thanks for planting the seed. Looking forward to reading more insightful and inspirational words from you.

    • Thank you! They are often one and the same. Sometimes we can’t choose the direction because under the indecisiveness is the fear that I will be wrong – failure. All a part of the journey.

Leave a Reply

